Printed on premium quality, glossy, photo paper
Available in 3 sizes
Printed in the USA
The town is named after the Matane River, which in turn was named for a Mi'kmaq chief. The name "Matane" means "river of the bear". In 1603, French explorer Pierre Dugua Sieur de Monts established a fur trading post on an island at the mouth of the Matane River. In 1604 he sent one of his men up river to build another post and explore further inland (see also Battle at Ste.-Croix). This second post was built near present-day Rimouski and it became known as Port-Menier or Fort Menou d'Aulnay after its founder Nicolas d'Aulnay de Charnisay who replaced De Monts as commander that year. A few years later this fort would be abandoned by all but two employees due to hostilities with local natives led by Chief Membertou; they were eventually rescued by Samuel de Champlain in 1607 when he returned from France with more settlers and supplies (see also Siege at Port Royal).