Printed on premium quality, glossy, photo paper
Available in 3 sizes
Printed in the USA
Mitchell is named after the Mitchell family, who were early settlers in the area. The first post office was established in 1852 and it was known as "Fullarton" until 1856 when it became "Mitchell". The community of Mitchell has a rich history which includes many historical buildings that are still standing today. One of these buildings is St. Thomas Anglican Church, built by William Fullarton (a member of one of the founding families) between 1830-1832 on land donated to him by his father John Fullarton Sr., who came from Ireland with his wife Mary and their three sons: James, John Jr., and William in 1798; they settled near what would become Stratford Ontario Canada . The church building itself was completed around 1840 but not officially consecrated until 1861 due to financial difficulties during construction caused by a fire which destroyed much timber used for scaffolding; this resulted in an increase on costs for materials needed to rebuild including lumber from Pennsylvania USA , nails made at nearby Ingersoll Ontario Canada , glass windows imported from England UK .